Image default

What BYU, Utah, Utah State gamers made school soccer preseason watch lists

Preseason school soccer watch lists are being launched, signaling that the beginning of fall camp is close to.

Right here’s a have a look at each Utah tie to make a preseason watch checklist this summer season.

Davey O’Brien Award

Nation’s finest school quarterback

The switch Brewer was a 2019 semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award — together with then-Utah QB Tyler Huntley — and made the preseason watch checklist final 12 months at Baylor. In that 2019 season, he threw for 3,161 yards with 21 TD passes and 7 interceptions.

2020 Davey O’Brien Award winner: Mac Jones, QB, Alabama

Earlier native winners (first awarded in 1981): Jim McMahon, BYU (Roy Excessive), 1981; Steve Younger, BYU, 1983; Ty Detmer, BYU, 1990 and 1991

BYU running back Tyler Allgeier runs for a large gain against the UCF Knights during the Boca Raton Bowl.

Brigham Younger Cougars working again Tyler Allgeier (25) runs for a big acquire in opposition to the UCF Knights in the course of the Boca Raton Bowl in Boca Raton, Fla., on Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2020.
Jeffrey D. Allred, Deseret Information

Maxwell Award

School participant of the 12 months

Allgeier is one in every of 14 sophomores named to the Maxwell watch checklist. He rushed for 1,130 yards and scored 13 touchdowns in a breakout season for the Cougars in 2020.

Brewer made the Maxwell watch checklist twice throughout his time at Baylor, and is on it once more with Utah. He threw for 9,700 yards and 65 touchdowns whereas beginning 4 seasons for the Bears earlier than transferring.

2020 Maxwell Award winner: DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama

Earlier native winners (first awarded in 1937): Ty Detmer, BYU, 1990

Bednarik Award

School defensive participant of the 12 months

Lloyd had a standout 2020 season, incomes All-Pac-12 first-team honors. He completed the 12 months with a team-high 48 tackles, 10 tackles for loss, two sacks, a compelled fumble and a QB Hurry.

Rice was named to the 2020 Bednarik watch checklist earlier than he transferred from Fresno State to Arkansas State for the 12 months. He’s now in Logan as a grad switch, after placing up 76 tackles, 18.5 tackles for loss and 7 sacks final season.

2020 Bednarik Award winner: Zaven Collins, LB, Tulsa

Earlier native winners (first awarded in 1995): None

Related posts

NCAA bracket 2021: Printable March Insanity bracket, match discipline set on Choice Sunday


School soccer preseason energy rankings — Alabama — who else? — begins at No. 1


Texas soccer 2021 projected depth chart, pre-spring offense


Leave a Comment