Image default
College Football

Former Notre Dame Soccer Participant Rod West Named to Faculty Soccer Playoff Choice Committee

Lastly, some excellent news out of the Faculty Soccer Playoffs. Former Notre Dame soccer participant and Nationwide Soccer Basis (NFF) board member, Rod West, has been named to the Faculty Soccer Playoff Choice Committee.

As reported by the NFF, “the Faculty Soccer Playoff (CFP) Administration Committee has appointed Rod West to the CFP Choice Committee, it was introduced as we speak by Invoice Hancock, Government Director of the CFP. West has been a member of the Nationwide Soccer Basis Board of Administrators since 2013.”

“West will change Basic Ray Odierno, who’s stepping down for well being causes after two years on the committee. Odierno, the previous Chief of Workers of the U.S. Military, was honored with the NFF Distinguished American Award in 2013.”

“‘Basic Odierno was a terrific member and we’re sorry to lose him,’ Hancock stated. ‘However Rod West will match proper in. He is aware of the sport, he loves the sport, and he’ll share the opposite members’ dedication to choosing the best groups.’”

“‘Serving with the opposite committee members was an incredible honor,’ Odierno stated. ‘I treasured the chance as all of us gave again to the sport we love a lot. The committee has a superb course of and a robust base of integrity and I do know they may proceed to do good work sooner or later.’”

“West, group president, utility operations for Entergy Company, is accountable for the operational and monetary efficiency of Entergy’s 5 working firms. West lettered three years as linebacker and tight finish on the College of Notre Dame, together with the Preventing Irish’s 1988 Nationwide Championship soccer group, and is a previous president of the Allstate Sugar Bowl and a member of the board of administrators for the Nationwide Soccer Basis.”

“‘I’m honored to have been invited to affix the Faculty Soccer Playoff Choice Committee,’ stated West. ‘It’s an thrilling time for school soccer, and I look ahead to upholding the excessive requirements of the CFP with the distinguished group of people who make up the choice committee.’”

“Rod West was named group president, utility operations for Entergy Company in 2017. Entergy is a Fortune 500 built-in power firm engaged primarily in electrical energy manufacturing and retail distribution operations and associated providers for 3 million clients in 4 states within the U.S. Gulf South. As President and CEO of Entergy New Orleans from 2007-2010, West led Entergy New Orleans out of its post-hurricane Katrina chapter and again to profitability.”

“West presently serves as a Hesburgh Trustee on the College of Notre Dame, after serving a decade on the board of trustees (2009-19). Beforehand, he additionally served twelve years on the Louisiana State College System Board of Supervisors, serving as chairperson from 2006-2007, and three years on the board at Xavier College of Louisiana.”

“West holds a B.A. from the College of Notre Dame. He obtained his Juris Physician from the Tulane College College of Legislation and his MBA from Tulane College’s Freeman College of Enterprise.”

“The CFP choice committee is accountable for choosing the highest 4 groups within the playoff and assigning them to semifinal video games in addition to rating the opposite prime 25 groups. The committee meets in-person starting late within the soccer season and produces a rating of the highest 25 groups every week main as much as its ultimate picks. The present choice committee members are Mitch Barnhart (athletics director, College of Kentucky), Gary Barta (athletics director, College of Iowa) (Chair), Paola Boivin (professor, Arizona State College), Tom Burman (athletics director, College of Wyoming), Charlie Cobb (athletics director, Georgia State College), Boo Coorigan (athletics director, North Carolina State College), Chris Del Conte (athletics director, College of Texas at Austin), Rick George (athletics director, College of Colorado), Will Shields (former All-American offensive lineman, College of Nebraska), R.C. Slocum (former head coach, Texas A&M College), Joe Taylor (Vice President for Athletics and Group Wellness, Virginia Union College), Rod West (group president Entergy Company), John Urschel (former All-American offensive lineman, Penn State College). For extra data on the choice committee, go to”

Related posts

School Soccer Playoff Nationwide Championship — Rating the highest 25 gamers in Alabama-Ohio State


Justin Fields Opens Up About His Harm In opposition to Clemson


Auburn coach Bryan Harsin helps Playoff growth


Leave a Comment