Image default
Champions League

Manchester Metropolis full clear sweep of Premier League awards

Manchester Metropolis accomplished a clear sweep of the Premier League awards with defender Ruben Dias named Participant of the Season, Pep Guardiola named Supervisor of the Season and Phil Foden named Younger Participant of the Season on Saturday.

Dias is the second Portuguese to obtain the honour after former Manchester United ahead Cristiano Ronaldo whereas Guardiola has received the managerial award for the third time.

Stream FC Each day on ESPN+

Dias was named England’s Footballer of the 12 months within the annual vote of the Soccer Writers’ Affiliation final month following an outstanding debut marketing campaign after his transfer from Benfica.

Dias performed a key position in delivering Metropolis’s third Premier League title in 4 years in addition to the Carabao Cup, and helped his facet the Champions League closing.

The 24-year-old was additionally named within the Skilled Footballers’ Affiliation (PFA) Workforce of the 12 months.

Dias is the fourth defender to be voted Participant of the Season by the general public, the captains of the 20 Premier League golf equipment and a panel of specialists after United’s Nemanja Vidic, former Metropolis captain Vincent Kompany and Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk.

His compatriot and former United ahead Ronaldo received the award in 2006-07 and 2007-08.

Different nominees for the award this season included Kevin De Bruyne, Bruno Fernandes, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, Mason Mount, Mohamed Salah and Tomas Soucek.

In 28 appearances, Foden scored 9 objectives and supplied 5 assists, establishing himself as a standout participant in Guardiola’s title-winning facet.

The 21-year-old is simply the second participant to win the award after Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold took the prize final 12 months.

Guardiola received the supervisor’s award in 2017-18 and once more in 2018-19 when he led Metropolis to consecutive league titles.

Beneath him, Metropolis conceded the fewest objectives (32) this season and saved clear sheets in half of their video games (19) to complete 12 factors away from second-placed United.

Guardiola received the award forward of fellow nominees Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds United), David Moyes (West Ham United), Brendan Rodgers (Leicester Metropolis) and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (United).

Related posts

Report: Tottenham in talks with Pochettino over shock return


Mourinho questions why it took horror week for Spurs to play so effectively vs. Villa


UEFA open to shifting Chelsea vs Manchester Metropolis UCL remaining to Wembley


Leave a Comment