Image default

Douglass-led slate win Bend-La Pine Faculty Board races; Sisters faculty levy passes, different requests fail

(Replace: New spherical of Deschutes County outcomes)

Quite a few contested races on faculty, park, hearth board seats, however fewer than one-third of ballots returned

BEND, Ore. (KTVZ) – Bend-La Pine Faculty Board Chair Carrie McPherson Douglas and three political newcomers, backed by Deschutes County Democratic Get together leaders, handily defeated a Republican-endorsed slate of 4 board candidates in Tuesday night time’s vote counts in probably the most high-profile races of a low-turnout particular election.

By noon Tuesday, solely about 27 % of Deschutes County voters’ ballots had been returned, regardless of extra contested races than usually seen within the Could particular election of odd-numbered years. The low turnout got here regardless of quite a few contested faculty, park and different board races on the poll.

Douglas sought re-election to a different time period, showing in joint promoting with fellow candidates Marcus LeGrand, Shirley Olson and Janet Sarai Llerandi, in addition to conducting particular person campaigns.

The 4 took half in public candidate boards and newspaper endorsements, however the GOP-backed slate of Jon Haffner, Maria Lopez-Dauenhauer, Gregg Henton and Wendy Imel declined to participate in these occasions, although each slates have been promoting closely in current weeks. The self-described “pro-student and professional household” slate, as they stated in a joint newspaper column, accused their opponents of a smear marketing campaign and twisting their views and messages.

In a late Tuesday night time replace with about 22 % of complete ballots counted (about 30 % have been returned), Douglass defeated Lopez-Dauenhauer, taking about 70 % of the vote, LeGrand was forward of Imel 66-34 %, Olson had 67 % to Henton’s 33 % of the vote and Llerandi had about 62 % to Haffner’s 36 % and about 2 % for third candidate Cab Burge.

three cash measures on the poll in Deschutes County, Sisters Faculty District voters authorized a $33.8 million bond measure for brand spanking new and upgraded amenities, together with a brand new Ok-5 elementary faculty, with 62 % in favor and 38 % opposed.

Nevertheless, a five-year levy for the Cloverdale Rural Fireplace District to enhance providers (and lower response instances) was defeated strongly, with about 69 % opposed. And a five-year levy to spice up funding for the La Pine Park and Rec District additionally was being defeated, 64-36 %.

One of many contested Redmond Faculty Board races was nearer than Bend-La Pine’s races, with Place 1 incumbent Shawn Hartfield forward of challenger Stephanie Hunter 55-45 %.  A four-way race for the Place 2 seat noticed Michelle Salinas main with about 41 % of the vote to 37 % for Michael Summers, 12 % for Lacey Butts and 9 % for Rachel Visononi.

Place 3, a three-way race, noticed Jill Cummings profitable with 46 % of the vote to 31 % for Lavon Medlock and 22 % for Ron Osmundson. Place 4, a four-way race, noticed Keri Lopez forward with about 32 % of the vote to Bob Perry with 23 %, Carmen Lawson with practically 23 % and Oscar Gonzalez with virtually 22 %.

The Sisters Faculty Board additionally had two contested races, with Jenica Cogdill simply defeating Rodney Cooper, 62 to 38 %. Within the Place 5 race, Edie Jones had about 68 % of the vote to 31 % for Kevin Eckert.

Three Bend Park and Rec Board seats have been on the poll, all contested. Incumbent Nathan Hovekamp was simply defeating challenger Lauren Nowierski-Stadnick, with 75 % of the votes, whereas Zavier Borja was properly forward of Robin Vora within the race for Place 4, 62-37 %. In one other open-seat race, Deb Schoen was handily forward of Elizabeth Hughes Weide, 75-25 %.

Within the Redmond Space Park & Rec Board races, Matthew Gilman was properly forward of Jon Golden for Place 1, 66 to 34 %, whereas Mercedes Prepare dinner led a three-way Place 2 race with about 41 % of the vote to just about 30 % for Lena Berry and 29 % for Jeremiah Pedersen.

A contested Deschutes Public Library Board race confirmed Anne Ness defeating Martha Lawler, 55 to 45 %.

Some hearth district board races additionally have been contested. Within the Alfalfa Fireplace District Place 1 race, John Brooks had 65 % of the vote to 35 % for Mark Laucks.

One Cloverdale RFPD Board contest was the tightest race within the county, with Michelle (Mikee Stutzman) forward of Deanne Dement late Tuesday night time by only one vote, 353-352. It was additionally pretty shut for Place 5, with Marcus Peck main incumbent Cindy Kettering by simply three votes, 367-364.

Deschutes County RFPD additionally had a contested race, with Oliver Tatom forward of Karl Scronce, 60-39 %. The La Pine Rural Fireplace District had two contested races; Place 1 noticed Robin Lannan Adams barely forward of Jerry Hubbard, 51 to 49 %, and Doug Cox defeating Rex Lesueur, 57 to 43 %.

One Redmond Fireplace & Rescue Board race was contested, and Jessica Meyer was simply forward of Carrol McIntosh, 78 to 21 %.

In Criminal County, a contested Criminal County Parks and Rec District Place 1 race noticed Ruthie McKenzie forward of Joe Becker, 53 to 47 %.

In Jefferson County, the 509-J Faculty Board Place 2 race confirmed Jamie Hurd defeating Lorien Stacona, 62 to 38 %. For Place 3, Jacob Struck was forward of Kaylyn Suppah, 54-46 %.

The race for Culver Faculty District Board Place 1 confirmed Michael Knepp comfortably forward, with 68 % to 31 % for David Bolhuis.

A contested race for Place 4 on the Jefferson County Schooling Service District Board confirmed Raylene Thomas defeating Jim Rahi, 61 to 39 %.

Within the three contested races for Lake Chinook Fireplace and Rescue Board, Robert Buckner was forward for the Place 2 seat, with 56 % to 44 % for Wealthy Brandvold.

A 3-way race for Place 3 confirmed Frank Burkeen forward with 55 % to 31 % for Mike Fisher and 14 % for Rick Courtney. Within the Place 4 race, Artwork Klingsporn was profitable over Kyle Thompson, 64-36 %.

There have been three contested races for the Jefferson County EMS Board, with Janet Brown forward of John Curnutt 54-46 %, Joe Krenowicz narrowly forward of Patricia Neff, 51-49 % and Mike Ahern main Louise Muir, 55 to 45 %.

There additionally was one contested race for Place 3 on the Madras Aquatic Middle Recreation District, and Jillisa Suppah was defeating Amy DeChamplain, 52-48 %.

Related posts

Soccer and racing fall silent as sport pays tribute to the Duke of Edinburgh


MoneyLion Races Into Third-Consecutive 12 months As Crew Penske Companion; Kicks Off 2021 Nascar Season With Brad Keselowski’s Run In Daytona


Horse racing betting suggestions for Gowran Park on Tuesday March 2


Leave a Comment